Building Control

Omagh District Council Building Control is part of the Western Group Building Control Service. The other member Councils are: Cookstown, Dungannon & South Tyrone, Fermanagh and Strabane.

District Councils have a statutory duty to enforce the Building Regulations and they do this through their Building Control Department. The Building Regulations are designed to ensure certain standards of health and safety apply to all buildings.

Building Control in Northern Ireland has a website which can be used to access information on all aspects of building control such as Building Regulations, details of District Council Building Control departments, how to make an application and calculating Building Control fees. It also supplies information on training events, courses and programmes as well as providing links to other websites operated by associated public sector bodies and professional institutions.